Eye’s a Romantic

A week ago, I posted about the issues I was having with my vision, a large number of very small gray spots drifting around in my field of view like Gray Snow.  Fortunately, my optometrist was available to do a retinal exam and reassure me that they were either floaters or products of an ocular migraine.  When I saw my regular doctor for a checkup on Thursday, he recommended I see an opthamologist and sent in a referral (since my Medicare supplement is an HMO).  On Tuesday afternoon, saw my new ophthalmologist who is about my daughter’s age and just as cute (don’t tell my daughter I said that).   During the very thorough exam, she suddenly asked, Are you a romantic?   It seemed like an odd question from an eye doctor.  I guess I am, I said.  Why?   The blood vessels form perfect heart in the center of your right retina just like a Valentine, she answered, sounding just a little excited.  I’ve heard of this but I’ve never seen it before.

So when the examination was over, she put the retinal photos on the computer screen and there it was:

retina heart

And even better, my retina has no problems.  Which makes me one happy old romantic.

Explore posts in the same categories: health

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

