Mood Music

moodWhen I was a young man (approximately three eons ago), there was a genre of music known as Mood Music.  Usually, Mood Music was recorded by large, string-based orchestras like the 101 Strings or Mantovani and His Orchestra.  It was not very cool to like Mood Music but since I loved the standards of the American Songbook, I owned several Mood Music recordings.  Yeah, I wasn’t especially cool.  I even had a 101 Stings recording titled Backbeat Symphony that consisted of classical music set to a late fifties rock and roll backbeat.  As you’ll see by the end of this post, it was pretty dreadful.  By the time I reached college age, I’d discovered jazz, where I could hear much hipper versions of the standards I loved and I joined the rest of my contemporaries in referring to Mood Music as Elevator Music.

Headed out today for my Wednesday stint at the local 12-Step office, I plugged my Samsung S5 phone into my car stereo and found a recording by Amici Forever, The Opera Band.   Amici Forever is a group of four classically trained singers (a tenor, a baritone and two sopranos) who mix opera with contemporary pop music.  This is my favorite track from the album, the beautiful Canto Alla Vita.

It is a song that always changes my mood, inspires me.  Operatic ensemble singing gives me a sense that there is more to our poor species than what I read on the day-to-day internet.  If, on the other hand, I’d started out with a mild case of the blues, I’d probably have chosen some jazz to lift my spirits, maybe something by Peter White or The Rippingtons’ Caribbean Breeze.

In need of a spiritual lift? Can anyone listen to the  Mozart’s Requiem and not feel a Higher calling?

If I needed to be energized there’s nothing like a window-rattling rendition of the Electric Light Orchestra’s It’s a Living Thing or Heart’s Magic Man.

If I want to feel like a young romantic I can listen to Santo and Johnny’s Sleepwalk or The Four Tops’ Reach Out – I’ll Be There.   If I need to grieve, I can put on something like John Barber’s Adagio for Strings.

So here’s my question. Given how my favorite music can change my moods, which did we call this Mood Music?

Explore posts in the same categories: music

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

