Off to Work

off to workI wonder how many people actually noticed that I haven’t posted since Monday.  There was a time when I had a regular cadre of readers and regularly read ten or so other blogs and my absence would have been noticed.  But I’ve been a solo writer and only a very occasional reader for quite a while.  It’s interesting.  The views on my blog per day are about the same as they were in my most active days and I have more followers than ever.   Comments?  Virtually zero except a few I receive by email.  But I still love to write, so posts keep popping up when I have the time or the inclination.

On Thursday, my company held a kickoff meeting for a new job.  It is not actually my company, it is a partnership with an old friend, mentor and colleague.  We both worked for big industry and when our big industry employer closed our facility in Socal and suggested we move to Rhode Island, we formed Technology Focus LLC, TecFocus for short.  You can read about us here, if you are so inclined.  That was fifteen years ago.  We had eight incredible years, but when the economy slowed in 2008, our business base dropped to nearly zero.  Since then work has come in dribs and drabs, but as I approached what most people view as retirement age, that was OK.  Then, earlier this year, a surprise … we won the largest job in the history of our company.

So, here I am, at seventy, embarking on a two year research project.  In the past ten years, I have been fully employed, retired and semi-retired.  Since this new project will require me to work approximately half time, I am again semi-retired.  Until I’m seventy-two.  It’s very interesting work and it will still leave me time for my avocations.  I never expected to be working at seventy-two.  But I like the idea.  But there may be fewer posts on Older Eyes – Bud’s Blog.

Explore posts in the same categories: business

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Off to Work”

  1. territerri Says:

    I think it says a lot about you that you’re still working during the years most would consider retirement years. You obviously love what you do. So many I know are just counting the days toward retirement, looking forward to the day they can “get out.” I always appreciate that I enjoy what I do enough to worry that I’ll be dissatisfied with complete retirement.

    I’ve not been a great blogger for a while now. I have good intentions of writing and reading more but I always fall short. Theoretically, my kids are grown and I should have more time. But my work responsibilities are bigger than ever before and I suppose caring for aging parents factors in as well. I catch up like this whenever I can.

    Sounds like this latest project is a perfect fit for you. Enjoy!

    • oldereyes Says:

      How absolutely perfect that my first regular reader responded to this post. I still love the writing part but my life is busy so I don’t get to reading as mcuh as I like, either blogs or books. I am surrounded by people my age and younger who are dealing with Alzheimer’s, dementia, and forgetfulness, and I think keeping mentally busy keeps me going. Your parents are lucky to have you. We are in the process of dealing with what looks like dementia in my sister, who is nine years younger than I am. That’s not how it’s supposed to work.


Leave a Reply

