The Long Way Home

LONG WAYI feel like posting today.  It’s hard to believe that after five years and over 1600 posts, I still get antsy if I haven’t posted for a few days.   Back a while, I regularly checked the number of visitors and views and waited breathlessly for comments.  OK, that’s an exaggeration … my wife, Muri, will tell you I’m good at that.  These days, I’m satisified with an occasional response on Older Eyes Facebook page or when someone comes up to me at a meeting and refers to something I wrote in a post the week before.  And sometimes, I’m satisfied just to write a post that satisfies me which, I suppose, is the best satisfaction of all. One thing I have discovered in five years of blogging is something Jack London told us all years ago … You can’t wait for inspiration. You have to go after it with a club. Sometimes the only cure for the gotta-post antsies is sitting down at the keyboard.

So here I am, at the keyboard with a question. Does anyone else out there have theme songs? I’m not talking about favorite songs, although they could be one and the same. I’m talking about a song that makes you aware of some aspect of yourself when it turns up on the radio like a forgotten friend. You know every word and you turn it up to sing along. Probably drive a little faster. No? I do. One turned up on Sirius XM the other day as I was driving to the 12-Step office, where I volunteer each week. It was Supertramp’s Take the Long Way Home. Coincidentally, on the same day, my cousin, Donna … who I’ve recently reconnected with on Facebook after years and years … posted Supertramp’s Logical Song. I commented that I love Supertramp and especially Take the Long Way Home. Here’s what she commented back: Something about “Take the Long Way Home” resonates with me, too. Reminds me of the mindless routines people do sleep walking through life. And then the sudden awareness of what lies just beyond, an expansion of ones peripheral mind, perhaps. Suddenly we wake up to needing a spiral in our step instead of a circle. So we take the long way home. YES! That is exactly it! Don’t you love it when that happens, when some unexpected particle of synchronicity tells you someone else knows exactly what you mean?  Of course, my response to Donna was, I guess we’re related.  So, for those of you who don’t know it … or just want to hear it again … here’s the song:

 

Explore posts in the same categories: music

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “The Long Way Home”

  1. lifeunderacarolinamoon Says:

    Have always loved it. I was young when it first came out. I think it’s even more appropriate for me now. Thanks for reminding me…


Leave a Reply

