Purring into the Weekend

catHere it is Friday and I haven’t posted since Monday.   The compulsive side of me begins to get a little antsy when I don’t post and no one likes an antsy compulsive side.  My Inner Curmudgeon, usually a reliable source of posts (which my readers find funny and my wife, not so much), is taking a vacation.  Always a curmudgeon, when I asked him to help me come up with something, he just said, *%$@ off.   Yesterday, I started a post on Why police don’t use non-lethal weapons.  It is a complicated subject (contrary to the brainless comments on most message boards) so between research and deciding what to say, even I was bored halfway through the post.  In case you can’t wait to hear what I have to say, I’ll likely post it at some point, so check back now and then.  And get a life.  Like I say, he’s always a curmudgeon.  So, today, you get a bit of fluff.  Feline fluff.

I am a cat person.  I have loved the little critters for as long as I can remember.  And the big critters, too.   I consider big cats among the mostCheetah Mother and Cubs, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya beautiful of God’s creations and the cheetah is my favorite.   At the moment, both of our cats are lounging somewhere else in the house, but if you were here in my office with me (which would be weird … I’m in my pajamas) you’d find a litterbox, food and water dishes and a keyboard decorated with cat fur.   According to an article on discover.com, Cats attach to humans, and particularly women, as social partners, and it’s not just for the sake of obtaining food, according to the new research, which has been accepted for publication in the journal Behavioural Processes.  The article goes on to say, While cats have plenty of male admirers, and vice versa, this study and others reveal that women tend to interact with their cats — be they male or female felines — more than men do.   Yes, my wife Muri and I have always wondered whether I got an extra X chromosome and this is just more evidence.  The truth is, felines mirror the characteristics I look for in friends.  While I like dogs (particularly my grand dogs … I’m required to say that), they tend to be obsequious.  I don’t dislike obsequious people, I just don’t hang around with them.   Same for obsequious animals.  I have no issue with people who don’t love … or don’t like … cats.   My Inner Curmudgeon thinks that not liking cats reflects poorly on one’s self-confidence but we’ll keep that to ourselves.  Mostly.

Mr. P sleepingOne of the things I love about cats is the way they express pleasure … by purring.   I have to admit, when Mr. P, our Siamese cat, is curled up on my lap, purring contentedly, I’m envious.  I want to be that contented.  I’ve put my ear against his fur to try to determine how he does it but it seems to come from his entire body.   According to HowStuffWorksIt turns out that cats have special wiring! The wiring travels from the brain to the muscles in the voice box, and this wiring is able to vibrate the muscles so that they act as a valve for air flowing past the voice box. The muscles work both during inhalation and exhalation, which creates the impression that cat can purr continuously.  So, if you wander through my family room and I’m sitting in my recliner with a cat in my lap, humming away, try not to be annoyed.  It’s the closest I can come to purring.

purr

Have a great weekend.

Explore posts in the same categories: feeling older

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Purring into the Weekend”

  1. territerri Says:

    Well, that explains a few things. The cat who lives here, Tigger (whom you might remember is really my parents’ cat but was bestowed upon me when they started wintering in Arizona,) has always been extemely anti-social, even more so than most cats. He doesn’t like people, doesn’t like to be seen or touched for the most part. But he will come around now and again when he knows I’m nearby. He wants me to pick him up and cuddle him – but only for a short while before he retreats to his hiding spot again.

    I periodically think I’d like to have another cat of my own. I miss Holly. She had so much personality! But then I worry I’ll get one like Tigger, with my only purpose being to refill the food dish and clean the litterbox, and another cat doesn’t seem so appealing. I guess I’ll continue to be a dog person, and enjoy cat escapades through your blog instead.


Leave a Reply

