Monday Smiles – 2/9/2015

workingToday is a workday so I could easily skip posting.  That’s probably not unusual on a Monday for those of you with Younger Eyes and regular jobs.  Back in my Big Industry days, Monday was often the busiest of my work days, getting back into the unfinished tasks of the previous week and discovering new ones management had lined up for me.  But these days, with my own company and work rarely full time, there aren’t many times my vocation … engineering … interferes with my avocation … writing.   But this week, we have a quarterly report due and more importantly we have a billing milestone tied to that report.  In other words, no report, no money.  So, this will be what we in the blogging world call a quickie.   That meant something very different in my younger, pre-blogging days, I’d add.

People, upon finding out I’m 70 and still working, ask, Did you ever think you’d be working at your age?   Probably notBut the truth is, I do it because I enjoy it.  Having my own business … with my business partner, Paul … has allowed us to do the kind of work we’ve always liked best but had to fight to do in big companies interested more in money than advancing science.  And we’ve set up our company to require a minimum of administrative tasks and we have a very capable independent contractor to do most of those.   It is a bit more effort to drag some of the engineering and math tools I need out of my mental archives, but once I do, it’s geeky good fun.   And then, guess what?  I get to write my results up in things like quarterly reports, exercising my avocation along side my vocation.   That is the kind of realization that I missed in my fifties when I was wondering if I wanted to be a writer.  I have been one for years.

So, it’s Monday.  It’s a work day.  I’m smiling.

Explore posts in the same categories: Monday smiles

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Monday Smiles – 2/9/2015”

  1. Coming East Says:

    I’m not surprised at all that you’ve chosen to keep on working, Bud. George won’t ever retire completely. And I am trying to get a little copyediting and proofreading business going. Not sure how to get some clients, but I will figure it out. I want to keep busy, be productive, and keep my mind sharp.

    • oldereyes Says:

      It doesn’t surprise me, Susan, that you feel that way, too. There are no guarantees but it sure seems to me that staying interested in life prolongs it or at least makes it better as long as it lasts.

  2. BlogCreatifa Says:

    This post made me smile. Thank you 🙂


Leave a Reply

