With All My …

heartWhether you are a romantic or not, whether you have a Valentine in your life or hate the day as 45% of Americans do, unless you lock yourself in your room today with the television off, you will see hearts everywhere.  And odds are that somewhere during the day, you will hear someone say, I love you with all my heartNow I think most people who know me would say  I am a romantic, but I am also a scientist, a scientist who has within the past few years had a thoroughheart evaluation of his heart by a cardiologist.  I assure you, he was not checking to see if I could love my Valentine, my wife Muri, in the way she deserves.  No, he was making sure that a cardiac misfire hadn’t caused a blackout I experienced while riding my bike.  It hadn’t and I’m fine, by the way, but having peered at my heart valves on the ultrasound machine, I know that my heart is a muscle, albeit a very sophisticated one.  So what’s with all this Love from the Heart nonsense?

It turns out we owe that notion to the Greeks and Romans**.  Aristotle taught his students that the heart controlled all emotions and reason while the Roman physician, Galen, who laid the groundwork for the modern view of the circulatory system also believed that while the brain was the seat of logic, the heart was the seat of emotions.  Even though we continue to talk about loving from the heart, I think most of have been taught in a science class somewhere that love starts in the brain, as do all our emotions.  But seriously, who wants to be told, I love you with all my brainActually, I have a few friends that might like it but that’s another story. And the truth is, when the brain says (((LOVE))), or even <<<LUST>>>, it triggers an assortment of glands to secrete a potpourri of hormones that create the sensations we associate with love.adrenal  I love you from the bottom of my glands or I love you with all my hormones doesn’t quite carry the romantic impact needed for Valentines Day, either.  Would you want to receive a card with a picture of an adrenal gland on the front?  And in the end, all those brain-triggered, gland-secreted hormones make our hearts beat like a drum when love comes calling, so I suppose that’s where we feel what we call love the most.

So, it’s Valentine’s Day, which here in our Little House in the Desert in AZ we celebrate mostly as my oldest grandson, Reed’s, birthday.  Oh, my wife Muri and I exchanged gifts and cards this morning.  In fact, I’m posting this using a mini-keyboard that was one of my gifts while listening to love songs on new earbuds that were my other.  And we will be headed to my daughter’s house to celebrate in a couple of hours.  And while I know there are brain cells and neurons and glands and hormones involved in all of these things, they feel like matters of the heart.  So, I wish my family and friends a Happy Valentine’s Day from the Bottom of My Heart and I offer Heartfelt Thanks to anyone who happens to stop by today to read Buds Blog.

** facts courtesy wisegeek.com

Explore posts in the same categories: humor

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “With All My …”

  1. SandySays1 Says:

    Happy “V” Day to you OE. Love your blog which continues to offer a quality read.


Leave a Reply

