Light Breezes

Sometimes I go about in pity for myself , and all the while a great wind is bearing me across the sky —  Ojibwa saying

This is the epigraph that appears at the top of the page titled What We Often Miss in David Kundtz’ book, Quiet Moments.  The Ojibwa are a large group of Native Americans, more commonly known as the Chippewa nation.  Apparently, even in a culture known for its appreciation of the natural world, people lost in their day-to-day troubles forgot to look and up to notice the amazing world we live in.   And it isn’t always a great wind … sometimes, it’s a light breeze.   Carrying a camera when I walk is one of the best way to keep myself looking up and away from the things that are troubling me.   Walking along, looking for opportunities for photographs, my mind is searching for, to use the Ojibwa metaphor, great winds and light breezes.  Today, I looked for small beauties that I’d probably miss if I was walking with my Runkeeper App nagging me to go faster.  Here are a few of them:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Have a great weekend.

Explore posts in the same categories: photography

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Light Breezes”


  1. Beautiful. Thanks for the mindfulness reminder from another mindful photographer. Don’t you find photography takes on a new meaning when it’s used as a reminder to really open our eyes (and other senses)… Thank you / \

  2. bgillis5 Says:

    Reblogged this on brittanysaccessories and commented:
    nice!!


Leave a Reply

