A(nother) Year

2015Last night, we finished 2015 with dinner and a movie, then home by ten.  Just in case you didn’t stop by Older Eyes – Bud’s Blog last night (I know. CFB semi-final games. On New Years Eve.  Really?), it was Mexican food and Star Wars.  My wife, Muri, checked her calendar (which records EVERYTHING, don’t you know) showed that we ended 2014 the same way (dinner at J.T. Schmid, a local Brewery, and Into the Woods).  Perfect low-key bookends for a senior couple celebrating the New Year.   Since 2009, when I started Older Eyes – Bud’s Blog, I’ve posted my New Year’s Resolutions on New Years Day.  Last year, I titled the post of my Shall We Call Them Goals, the premise of the post being that maybe setting goals instead of making resolutions would make them seem more achievable.  Didn’t happen.   I had to go back to last year’s New Year’s Day post to remember what I’d resolved … er, set as goals.  Of course, last year’s goals were almost identical to the year before … and on and on back to 2009.  That’s OK … I usually choose my resolutions based upon things I wish I’d done better in the preceding year.   That usually leads to goals that don’t come naturally, even after 71 years on this planet.  I won’t be posting resolutions today, although I may do so later in the week (if my to-be-posted resolution to post more doesn’t fall by the wayside again).   Today, I want to talk about 2015.

In my experience, most years are a mix of good and bad.  I consider myself blessed if a wonderful turns up once or twice … and if awful or tragic doesn’t make an appearance.  If I want to sing It Was a Very Good Year along withgood year Old Blue Eyes, I need a degree of selective recall … and some new lyrics.  2015 is no exception. It was a very good year for my business.  We won a large government contract that will keep this semi-retired curmudgeon busy (and out of our IRAs) through 2016.  The work has been interesting, too.  On the other end of the scale, as our friends and family age, we see fading health and dementia settling over people we love.  My sister, Patti, went from independent living to assisted living when she got lost out driving in the middle of the night for no reason.   That falls in the awful to tragic category but watching my brother and sister help he find a place to live near them … at no small cost to their own year … was heart-warming.  Thank you, Glenn and GeorgeAnn.  My daughter and her family moved to Utah this year, making visiting the grandkids harder and necessitating the sale of our Little House in the Desert.  Neither we nor they have totally adjusted to the move but the grandkids are still the light of our lives.

kids 2015

During 2015 MrMr. P block. P, our son’s Siamese cat, slipped out through an open door and never returned.  I never thought I would miss a pet so much.   As the result of the result of several unpleasant confrontations during the year … usually following us being away to see the grandkids … we have decided it is time for our adult son, who has lived with us for over ten years, to find living arrangements elsewhere.  He is unlikely to make the transition easy by slipping out through an open door.   During the latter part of the year, I have neglected the practices that enable me to keep my dark side at bay (well, a little Prozac, too).  A fixable problem.  All it takes is that elusive little bugger, Discipline.

Still, the Love of My Life by my side along with a handful of faithful family and friends made it a very good year (with apologies to Ervin Drake, who composed the song):

When I was seventy-one, it was a very good year
It was a very good year to have my wife like mine
And a handful of friends
Who stood by my side
Until the year was done
When I was seventy-one.

Yes, now the days are short, I’m in the autumn of my years.
And I think of my life life like vintage wine
From fine old kegs
From the brim to the dregs
It poured sweet and clear
It was a very good year.

I hope your 2016 is a Very Good Year.

Explore posts in the same categories: feeling older

One Comment on “A(nother) Year”

  1. Tee Says:

    I’d say you’ve managed to find a good bit of positive in what otherwise could have simply been labeled a really tough year. Dementia is such an awful, awful condition. And I know how much you love Mr. P. I can only imagine how hard it’s been to see your loved ones suffer, and to be without your beloved pet. And the struggles with your son … I’m so sorry.

    But those grandkids of yours have smiles that still light up your photos! I always enjoy when you share them. The kids are growing up so fast!

    Happy New Year to you and Muri!


Leave a Reply

