Not Just for Me

tired catThere was one day last week that didn’t go so well.   There were no tragedies, no calamities, no tears.  There were difficult issues to deal with and people … for some strange reason … did not line up to do what I wanted them to do.  Go figure.  By the end of the day, I needed an enclave so I drove … alone … to the park.   It had rained most of the day and was still drizzling as I pulled up to the parking lot by the lake.  Creativity general is a balm for my soul, so I took a picture of the lake shrouded in the leftover clouds of a Socal storm and posted it.  Here it is again.

tmp_28793-Park rain539355616

About 40 minutes later, I was treated to this:

park sunset1

A friend said, God put on a show for you.  Another friend on Facebook, an artist, told me, You should paint it.  Now, I’m not egotistical enough to think that God made that sunset just for me but I do believe God aligns people and places in what Carl Jung called synchronicity.   I can tell you that the sunset lifted my spirits.  And I was looking for something to get me painting again and this is it.  And I can say, Thank You, God, even if it wasn’t just for me.

I always wonder.  How many people even looked up from their smartphones to notice?

Explore posts in the same categories: spirituality

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Not Just for Me”


  1. What a nice reminder that the clouds can clear. (I’m always happy to see how many people in my area use their smartphones to take pictures of the sunset and post them for everyone to enjoy.)

  2. Cheryl P. Says:

    Hi Bud, I am glad that the sun’s appearance lifted you spirits. Beautiful pictures. Hope the gray skies (both literally and figuratively) are behind you.


Leave a Reply

