Throwback Thursday – Decades

claendarIt has been 3 weeks since I’ve posted.  Does anyone care?  Yes. I do.  My life feels fuller when I post.   But it is an unfortunate characteristic of my personality (what 12-Steppers would call a Defect of Character) that I don’t always do what is good for me.   In the interest of making this a better day … and at the risk of feeling like a social media trend follower … I thought I’d do a Throwback Thursday post with a picture of me from each decade of my life.  It was not as easy as I thought.  In my first two decades, the 40s and 50s, I was so darn cute it was hard to choose one photo.   And beyond the 50s, as the primary photographer in the family, I don’t appear in most of the photos on my computer.  But I was determined.   Is it a bit narcissistic to post pictures of yourself?   Sure, but sometimes, you gotta do what you gotta do to post.  Here are seven decades of Older Eyes:

Bud 1946

1946 – I think this was taken at my grandmother’s house before my Dad came home from the war. Don’t you love the hat? The car?

 

bud 1950s

circa 1957 – That’s me, second from the left, hanging on to my brother. Between the clothes. the car and the old apartments, it reminds me of Our Gang

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

bud-alfa-68

1966 – First car after graduating college, next to my parents’ house in East Haven. Notice my Dad’s Pontiac in the background.

bud 1976

1976 – My wife, Muri, and I headed to my sister’s wedding with our son, Aaron. My mutton chop years.

1986

1986 Los Angeles Bud Light Triathlon – That’s me in the middle, coming out of the water and headed for my bike. An old guy deserves at least one vanity pic.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

siblings 1990s

Somewhere in the 1990s – Older Eyes and his sister, Much Younger Eyes, and his brother, A Little Younger Eyes, outside the house where they grew up.

Bud 2000

2003 – Dancing with my daughter at her wedding. The peak of my Dick Cheney look-alike years.

bud 2010s

2013 – On Maui with Mrs. Eyes for her ??? Birthday. You don’t stay married almost fifty years giving away your wife’s age.

L

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Life has been good to me.

 

 

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: feeling older

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Throwback Thursday – Decades”

  1. cherperz Says:

    That is a lovely post, Bud. I have noticed your absence and missed you.


  2. I know it may seem to you that I don’t read your posts but I do -not just necessarily in a timely fashion. I save them in my inbox to read at a time when my mood is not grumpy or rushed and then, go back to pull up a post of yours so I can enjoy what I am reading and/or seeing -as was the case in this post of yours. Loved the pictures you put up and no, I don’t consider this as being narcissistic at all! Just nice to look back through your eventful life, Bud.


Leave a Reply

