I’m Versatile

Way back on July 8, a fellow blogger, Granny1947, gave me a blogging award, The Versatile Blogger.   In the midst of my Dad’s passing and going to Arizona to take care of my grandchildren, I never expressed my appreciation.   Now that I have some time I want to do just that.    Traditionally, when one receives an award like this, he or she graciously passes it along to someone else with no strings attached, but The Versatile Blogger Award comes with some conditions, listed below.   If you are one of my recipients, please understand there is no pressure to pass it on – just know that I enjoy visiting your blog.

The conditions are:
1. Thank the blogger who gave the award and link to their blog
2. Share 7 things about yourself
3. Pass along to 15 bloggers (and link to them)
4. Comment on their blogs to tell them of the award

So, here we go …

1. Thank the blogger who gave the award and link to their blog:

Thank you, Granny1947, for The Versatile Blogger award.   I’m glad you enjoy Older Eyes.  The appreciation is mutual … I enjoy your wry comments on your life and (especially) the photos of your beach.  By the way, I’ve been looking at some of the blogs on your list and have been quite impressed.

2. Share Seven Things About Yourself:

I was born Francis, called Buddy by my parents … now friends call me Bud and colleagues call me Frank.  Who am I, anyway?

I have been a writer posing as an electrical engineer (a very good one) all my life.

I have an unpublished novel called A Dangerous Misconception stored somewhere in my office.

My favorite drink is scotch on the rocks, martini with blue cheese stuffed olive in close second

I am a self-help and spirituality book junkie.

I’m nuts over my grandkids, Reed, Maddux and Savannah

My favorite song is Sky Blue and Black by Jackson Browne.

3. Pass Along to 15 Other Bloggers and Link to Them:

Into the Mystic – A life, beautifully told
Conditionally Satisfactory – Laid back view of a life
Coffee Break – Humor and opinion from Delaware
Momma Mia, Mea Culpa – Humor, writing and life
Savoring Today – Food, faith and patriotism
Pete’s Quiz – Daily trivia for your entertainment and enlightenment
Your Caring Angels – Angels, angel stories and life
Liggyz Dreamz – Life from a younger perspective
Chicago Cool
– A new blog on Chicago’s heart
Art By Tomas – Amazing photography
Wolfbernz – Web design, blogging and farm life
Trina’s Blog – Life, blogging and website design on a Maryland farm
Over Cups of Coffee – Talk and psychology from Australia
Down River Drivel – Life in down river Pennsylvania
Bloomer – A blog on writing by author Susan Breen

4.) Comment on Their Blogs to Tell Them of the Award:

One of the great things about the above step: it’s forced me to comment … not just be a lurker.  Please check my selections out for yourself. ;)

Explore posts in the same categories: writing and blogging

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

23 Comments on “I’m Versatile”

  1. granny1947 Says:

    Good Morning Bud….good to see you back.
    Glad you survived the grandkids!
    One of the nicest things about this award is finding new posts…I discovered some great ones on thelisas.
    Have a great day.


  2. Thanks heaps for that! Nice to see you de-lurking! 🙂

  3. Susan Breen Says:

    Thanks so much for the mention. I love scotch too! All best, Susan (Bloomer).

  4. territerri Says:

    What a great way to start the day! I was reading through my latest comments and opening my reader when I saw your comment, and a big smile spread across my face! Thanks, Bud!

    I will pay it forward too. But like you, it may take me a little time.

  5. AngelBaby Says:

    What a lovely surprise to wake up to. I always check my site in the morning after I get my coffee and there it was this beautiful award. Thank you so much for this lovely award, I will be honored to put it on my site.

    Have a wonderful day!

    Love and Blessings,
    AngelBaby


  6. Whoa, Bessie! What a surprise to see that you’ve given me this gift. This will definitely have to wait to do a response and getting “paid forward” though as my daughter and I will be leaving the old house in about an hour to head to Pittsburgh where I will be unavailable to anything computer-related for probably a week as I am having surgery there this afternoon. I’m taking a bag, full of embroidery projects to work on while recuperating and maybe I can work up my response, in my mind, then too and be mentally prepared then to tell the world seven things about me. Definitely will provide some food for thought. “A martini with a bleu cheese stuffed olive” now, there’s a new one on me as I’ve never heard of olives like that before. Interesting, veddy, veddy interesting.

  7. Wolfbernz Says:

    Hi Bud

    As long as they don’t call you late for dinner I guess it doesn’t matter… LOL

    Thanks for the award, it’s nice to receive such a gift… I will be happy to put up a post and pass this along.

    Have a great day!
    Wolf

  8. Trina Says:

    How cool is this? I know your comments don’t make it immediately to my site somehow my SPAM catcher grabs all your comments 😦 But I do always fish them out and make sure they get posted!

    “martini with blue cheese stuffed olive” OMG reading that on a Friday Morning is dangerous! All I can think about is running to the liquor store – I have the olives in the fridge but I’m fresh out of vermouth!

    Thank you so much for the award! Is crazy how something simple like this is both inspiring and makes you feel totally appreciated!

    TGIF!
    –Trina

    • oldereyes Says:

      When you have blue cheese stuffed olives, who needs vermouth? I’m glad you like the award … BlogDumps and TST has been a mind-opener for me.

  9. Pete's Quiz Says:

    Wow!! That was an unexpected, but extremely welcome pleasure…and very timely as well! Now that I’m working full time again (albeit in a temporary job…that may lead to something more permanent, hopefully!) it is becoming increasingly difficult to find the time to post my blog each day and I was thinking of giving up!

    After 20 months and only a very small readership I was thinking, “What’s the point in carrying on?” (I’d been hoping to have lots more readers so that I could go to a publisher, show them all of the interested people following my blog and get my ‘Today’s the Day Quiz Book’ published.)

    But, many thanks Bud, you’ve made me think that it is worth carrying on for a while longer.

    Fulfilling the rest of the responsibility will take a bit longer…I’m not sure if I know/visit as many as 15 blogs…but I’ll get round to it in the next few weeks.

    Cheers,
    Pete

  10. Liggy Says:

    Many thanks, Bud…I appreciate the compliments and the award. I will definitely share the award after I go through my list of favorite blogs. I read a lot of them, though, I must say that yours is definitely one I enjoy reading a whole lot.

    As I have pondered through my own experiences over time, trying to learn from my mistakes as well as from achievements, I find the things you’ve shared very helpful in learning to see life from more than one perspective.

    Life is too short to waste by keeping narrow-minded. And when answers cannot be found through one’s own experiences, it always helps to learn from others like you. Thanks again!!! 🙂

    • oldereyes Says:

      Thank you for your kind words, Liggy. It’s good for an old guy to have an appreciative young reader. It’s interesting for me to see the music and groups you post. I never thought I’d be as out of touch with new music as I am.


  11. […] dear friend Bud from Older Eyes gave me this wonderful Award and I am to pass it along to other bloggers that I enjoy reading their […]

  12. Oscar Says:

    Hi Bud! Wow I accepted your comment a few days ago but haven’t gotten on any to read. As I said I accept comments from my phone. Finally was able to look and was suprised! Thanks Buddy! Coming from a great writer like you I am honored! I’ll pass it along as as soon as I can!

  13. Judy Says:

    Now that I am back from vacation I can let you know how encouraging it was to receive your gracious award and comments. What a great way to practice lifting others up in a culture of tearing down. Well done. I look forward to checking out your award winners, and one day passing along a few awards of my own 🙂


  14. […] cool is that! It was given to me by Older eyes (aka Bud) Thanks bud I really appreciate […]


Leave a comment