Surprise !

AWARDS

Over the weekend, something happened here on Older Eyes – Bud’s Blog that hasn’t happened for a long time.  Someone stopped by with a blogging award … actually with a Bunch of Awards.  In Older Eyes’ first few years, when I was blogging more (meaning I was actually reading blogs and posting on mine), I received a number of awards which I happily display in my sidebar.  But lately, my posting has felt a little forced … and my reading virtually nonexistent, making a lie of my Blogs I Read list.   Enter Tazien, who’s been persistently Liking my posts for a good while now.  Last week, I finally made it over to her blog and left a comment on her post about finding one’s purpose, Our Life’s Purpose!.  And Saturday, she stopped by with the Bunch of Awards, which I’ll happily add to my sidebar.  As usual, such awards come with suggestions: (1) link to the blog of the person who gave the award; (2) in this case, provide an alphabet of words that describe yourself; and (3) give the award to your favorite bloggers.  (1) and (2) I’ll do as instructed … on (3), I’ll improvise a bit.

Tazien lives in Singapore and her beautiful blog is titled Transcending Borders.  She calls it  A TWINKLING STAR- BRINGING A DASH OF HOPE, INSPIRATION AND LOVE IN YOUR EVERY DAY LIFE! and if I had to describe her in my own words, I’d say she’s a spiritual romantic, albeit a much younger one than Older Eyes.   She posts on faith, love, hope, God, spirituality, courage and redemption and has an amazing following.

Now, that alphabetic description of me: A – Artistic; B – Bright; C – Curmudgeon; D – Dark; E – Engineer; F – Father; G – Grandfather; H – Husband; I – Interesting; J – Jovial; K – Kind; L – Loving; M – Mindful; N – Natural; O – Old(er); P – Passionate; Q – Questioning; R – Romantic; S – Spiritual; T – Thinking; U – Uncommon; V – Virtuous; W – Writer; XXenial; Y – Yearning; Z – Zoftig.  How’s that?

In lieu of passing on the awards to my favorite blogs, I’ve decided to use Tazien’s award as an impetus to bring some enthusiasm back to my blogging.  For one, that means reading again.  I’ve reduced my Blogs I Read back to those that post regularly and I intend to begin reading them again.  That will have to count as my list of favorites.  I’m going to try to be more conscientious about responding to comments.  Not only have I added the awards to my sidebar, I’ve added a Quote of the Day, which I’ll try to keep updated.   I’m going to pay a little more attention to adding contents to Older Eyes Facebook page, which you can access from the badge in my sidebar.  There are now over 1,300 posts on Bud’s Blog and perhaps it is time to see if something publishable can be gleaned from those roughly 800,000 words.  Perhaps it’s time for a theme change or a move to a self-hosted site.  We’ll see where things go.  But they are going somewhere.  Thanks, Tazien.

Explore posts in the same categories: writing and blogging

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “Surprise !”

  1. Muriel Reed Says:

    Congratulations!! Well done:). xenial???

  2. Cheryl P. Says:

    You certainly deserve any and all rewards. I can understand the need to “change things up”. While I think your blog is great just the way it is, I can appreciate that a few changes revitalize the writer.

    Wow, 1300 posts…that’s amazing.

  3. sharon Says:

    I had to look up zoftig. I like the alphabetic description….


  4. Thank you, my friend, for allowing me to make the cut on your list. You are a gracious, if not constantly engaged, blogger, and I value that in you.


Leave a Reply

