Good Things, Small Packages

It’s Top Sites Tuesday again … and I need to be careful.    While I loved last week’s topic (Helping Others), coming up with something meaningful to say on the subject nearly gave me a mental hernia (very painful, in case you’ve never had one).    I also exceeded my weekly ration of post-words by several hundred.  So, there are two basic requirements for this week’s post … it needs to be upbeat and short.    Fortunately, the general theme for Top Sites Tuesday #44 is Two Thoughts on Tuesday again so I can choose my own poison, er, topic.

If you read my Monday Smiles post yesterday (and if you haven’t, why not?), you know that over the weekend, my wife and I went with friends to The Living Desert, a wild animal park in Palm Desert, CA.    One of the best things about the park is the large enclosures that allow the animals there to lead a fairly normal life (except, of course, for people staring at them.   Do you remember the Twilight Zone about the family whose house turns out to be in an alien zoo?).    One of the features of the park is a walk through hummingbird and butterfly enclosure.  The butterfly population was low due to the season but there were a number of hummingbirds willing to pose close enough to photograph with my very basic digital camera.   Now, I know we’re supposed to be able to see God in our fellow man but by the time we reach our teenage years, most of us have acquired enough annoying peccadilloes that I find it difficult.    It’s easier for me to see God’s handiwork in certain of the world’s flora and fauna, especially flowers and cats (large or small) and in birds.   The Living Desert had owls and hawks and eagles and mccaws, all of which are amazing, but seeing that hummingbird up close makes me think it was created on one of God’s best days.

OK, now you know where I’m going.   When it comes to creation, good things come in small packages.    Right?   Or are you in the the bigger the better camp?  (Hint.  Hint.  Those are the two thoughts.   I told you.  Upbeat.  And, oh well,  at least it’s shorter than last week’s)   Are you more awed by the intricacies of a single snowflake under the microscope or the power of the ocean as the waves break on the beach during a storm?   By the fluorescent glow of a neon tetra in an aquarium or a whale breaching during breeding season?    By the Siamese cat curled purring in your lap or the cheetah bounding across the savanna at eighty miles an hour?     It would be hard to decide, I suppose, because there are so many wonders in our world.    Are you taking time to notice?   It is the antidote to the daily news.

If you enjoyed this post, please click my button below … gently … and make me #1 on BlogDumps Top Sites Tuesday #44.


Come Join Top Sites Tuesday and be #1 on BlogDumps!

The purpose of this Meme is to encourage
Networking between bloggers to have fun while doing it!
Make sure to visit all the other participants and leave comments
View More Top Sites Tuesday Participants on Technorati here.
See who Tweeted this Post!

Explore posts in the same categories: perspectives

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “Good Things, Small Packages”

  1. RandomizeME Says:

    I think most things were created on God’s best days 🙂

    P.S. I love how poetic you are when you write!

  2. Shupshe Says:

    Lovely post. You are right. All God’s creation has beauty if you look at it with clear eyes. Funny how the universe and an atom have so many similarities when you discount size.

  3. AngelBaby Says:

    This is just delightful. God did create everything and he did a great job. There is so much beauty everywhere you look if you want to see it and it does leave me in awe!

    Here’s your click ………..

    Love and Blessings,
    AngelBaby

  4. Liggy Says:

    Yes, wonderful post! I think we all should take time out of our busy lives every once in awhile just to be awed by the vast amounts of beauty surrounding us. Nature is amazing!

  5. Trina Says:

    I have never seen a hummingbird sitting still, what a neat thing! I agree with your two thoughts… good things come in small packages AND bigger is better. I think that for the world to be in perfect balance we need both, large and small.

    Happy Tuesday!
    –Trina

  6. Wolfbernz Says:

    The humming bird sitting still shows how large that beak is… I wouldn’t want to get stuck by that!
    It is a great photo, it’s fun to just take in the moment and look at what’s going on around us. All things are great big and small.

    Have a great week Bud 🙂

    Wolf

  7. territerri Says:

    It is often the simple things in nature that speak to me of God’s presence; The intricacies of a flower petal, the patterns in a leaf, the colors in the trees, a bright full moon shining behind tree branches.

    The hummingbird is beautiful. I don’t think I’ve ever been lucky enough to see one so close or for long enough that I could see its colors.


Leave a comment