On the Fridge

By God, she’s finally done it.   Trina of BlogDumps has come up with a topic for the regular Tuesday meme that I don’t seem to be able to over-think, not that I didn’t try.  The topic for Top Sites Tuesday #74 is What’s on Your Fridge? I thought I had a great idea … what does your refrigerator decor tell us about your personality?  Maybe I could call it Refrigerator Magnet Psychoanalysis.   A quick examination of our refrigerator door revealed, however, that except for one lonely item ( a mandala from my mandala coloring book … seriously), our refrigerator door decor is the work of my wife.  Older Eyes did not stay married for forty-two years by attempting to psychoanalyze his wife in public (or in private, for that matter).  So this will be a just-the-facts, Ma’am description of our fridge door … psychoanalysis is left to the reader.

As you can see, our refrigerator decor is an eclectic mix.  There are enough inspirational magnets and calendar pages to ward off any uninspired days, or so you’d think.   We have Attitude is a little thing that makes a big difference (so true) … It’s not the years in your life that count, it’s the life in your years (surely written by someone in their forties looking forward hopefully) … Count your blessings (we do and it helps most of the time) … Have Faith (always a good idea) … and the always hard to implement Let’s put the fun back in dysfunctional.   If inspiration doesn’t work, there’s always Snap Out of It.   We can look at the smiling faces of our grandchildren, nieces and nephews to lift our spirits, savor the precociousness of our grandson’s drawings or be reminded that Cats are Designated Friends and Animals are such Agreeable Friends – They Ask No Questions and Pass No Criticisms.   There are friendship magnets that say things like Miles Can’t Separate the Best of Friends and You Make the World a Nicer Place by Just Being You … I suppose those could be uplifting if I knew who gave them to us (my wife probably does … in fact, they were probably given to her!).  There’s a short article on ways to reduce stress … things like deep breathing and stretching … and another on how to eat to reduce stress.   Hmmm.  Last year, I put a set of word magnets up and my son and I had an ad hoc competition making sentences … but we seem to have lost interest … it’s mostly word-salad these days.

Then there’s this guy, our refrigerator bendable buddy.  Like the word magnets, he’s been forgotten lately, but he’s been known to move about the refrigerator door, changing his pose from day to day.   He too carries a message for a stress free life … if you want to be happy, you have to be flexible.

Now, if you want to keep Older Eyes flexible … and stress free … please push my button … gently … to make me Number One on Top Sites Tuesday #74.


Come Join Top Sites Tuesday and be #1 on BlogDumps!

The purpose of this Meme is to encourage
Networking between bloggers to have fun while doing it!
Make sure to visit all the other participants and leave comments
View More Top Sites Tuesday Participants on Technorati here.
See who Tweeted this Post!


Explore posts in the same categories: perspectives

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “On the Fridge”

  1. Oscar Says:

    We have a stainless refridgerator. magnets don’t stick to it and tape messes it. 😦

  2. sandysays1 Says:

    My human’s fridge look’s like it should be sitting on a roadside. Domino’s coupons, pictures of the Grands, magnetic business cards, (my human will never use), out-dated memory notes, Kellogs box tops, etc.
    The Geezer, that’s my human, keeps putting things there but never removes them. Senility? Who knows about humans.
    Sandy
    http://www.Sandysays1.wordpress.com

  3. granny1947 Says:

    Hmmmmmmmm…will have to look when I get home.
    I know there is one that says if you don’t like cats you were probably a mouse in a previous life.
    also…grandchildren are God’s gift for not killing your kids.
    Oh yes…a list of emergency numbers.
    this is now going to worry me…thanks Bud!!!

  4. AngelBaby Says:

    Those are some really cute magnets, I like them a lot. It is a very good idea not to analyze your wife if you want to stay married so you are doing the right thing! That is why you are still married. LOL!

    Here’s your click ……..

    Love and Blessings,
    AngelBaby

  5. Trina Says:

    Love the collection! Kinda’ makes my fridge look bare and uninviting LOL I’m thinking I might need a trip to the store to solve that problem!

    I do like that your fridge is so very inspirational!

    Clicks!
    –Trina

  6. Wolfbernz Says:

    Hi Bud.

    I think the fridge looks great 🙂

    Much better than the one in my shop as I can’t lay claim to the one in the kitchen… LOL
    I don’t think I will perform a Psychoanalysis except to say it is a positive looking fridge.

    Wolf

    Clicks for the fridge

  7. Liggy Says:

    Wow! I like that magnet guy! That is a really cool concept – being flexible! That’s the coolest magnet I ever saw…

    CLICKS for you 🙂

  8. territerri Says:

    So nice to see that others have a cluttered fridge too. Mine’s very similar with photos and a variety of magnets. Not too many childish drawings anymore, though I’d welcome them if someone wanted me to display them.

    *Pushed your button!


  9. Enjoyed your post immensely, Bud…and love the Bendy (used to sell them, too..lol. Think I really am going to have to do a blog on our store even though it is past history. I do especially love the ‘ephemera’ magnets offer. Clicks for you!

  10. Marv Says:

    Well as a fellow engineer I just have to debug this. First, my fridge is bare. It’s stainless so magnets don’t stick, but secondly it’s because I dislike the cluttered look (wanting to maintain order) I guess the difference between us is the lady in my life likes the neat look as well so I don’t have to compromise. It’s just another example of what we all do to stay in relationships.


Leave a comment