Election Day

Today is Election Day.   Here in California, we not only have Senate, Congressional and gubernatorial elections but voting on a variety of propositions that may dramatically affect the already shaky California economy.   For many years, I thought this initiative process … in which new laws can be voted on directly by the voters  … was a good thing, the closest to pure democracy we’ve got.   However, as we, the voters, continue to make decisions that drive the California economy deeper into recession, I’m not so sure.   For example, last year, as we descended into recession together … and California developed a budget deficit that would dwarf the economies of many countries … we voted for a $10 billion dollar bond to build a high speed bullet train which would connect San Francisco, Sacramento, Los Angeles and San Diego.   This in a state where all mass transportation operates at a deficit, kept afloat only by government subsidies.   We the voters also seem to continue to elect politicians who promise one thing and deliver something else.   By the time you read this, I’ll have already made my early morning pilgrimage to the polls to toss my one vote into the abyss, hoping that perhaps sanity will prevail this year.   If that sounds cynical, it is.

So, it’s Top Sites Tuesday #84 – Two Thoughts on Tuesday and my thoughts are about what should be one of the most precious privileges we have as citizens … and yet I vote without enthusiasm.  Candidates assail my TV with negative ads featuring unflattering photos of their opponents, coupled with character attacks that have little to do with ability to govern.   Opponents records are distorted and taken out of context.   Candidate websites and campaign literature are no better, and if I turn to the media, every newspaper and television station seems to present a one-side view based on its own particular political leanings.   Propositions are supported by special interests and opposed by other special interests, both of whom spend millions on advertising that has little to do with the actual content of the propositions.  At least I can read the exact wording of the propositions in the voter handbook.   So, thought number 1 is this: I find the way our politicians and media disrespect our collective intelligence discouraging … but nowhere as near as discouraging as it would be to know they were right.  Which leads me to thought number 2.

PLEASE VOTE TODAY.  But don’t just vote … think before you vote.   Try to cut through the personal and political innuendo to the essence of what makes a leader.   I know … sometimes it seems like we are settling for the lesser of two idiots … but taking the time to do even that is worthwhile.   If you don’t think and vote, you leave the future to those who simply vote party lines or choose candidates like they buy beer or cereal.   This is a great country … give it the attention it deserves.

And while you’re at it, take the time to vote me Number One on Top Sites Tuesday #84.  Just push my button once … no stuffing the ballot box.


Come Join Top Sites Tuesday and be #1 on BlogDumps!

The purpose of this Meme is to encourage
Networking between bloggers to have fun while doing it!
Make sure to visit all the other participants and leave comments

Explore posts in the same categories: curmudgeonly rants

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Election Day”

  1. Wolfbernz Says:

    I’ve always said that if you don’t vote you don’t get to complain.

    Clicks!
    Wolf

  2. Trina Says:

    I’ve always wondered how much money California spends sending those voter guide books out to everyone… with the cost of creating, publishing, printing, distribution, etc… would they have been able to pay for the train without going into deficit?

    Happy Tuesday! Clicks for you!
    –Trina

  3. granny1947 Says:

    Good Morning Bud….at least in your country the goverment changes every now and again…here the same party will just stay in power no matter how badly they do…real sheep syndrome.
    We have just had a major cabinet shuffle.
    A lot of useless ministers axed.
    This should be a good thing but i think it it more a political move to keep our president in power in 2012.

  4. oldereyes Says:

    As I get older, I sometimes think the faces change but nothing else does, just the rhetoric. The results here in California are very discouraging.

  5. AngelBaby Says:

    I do agree with you about the media and rhetoric, I can not stand listening to it. I think they should have to talk about the issues and what they plan to do about them and that is all they can do. No negative ads at all, wouldn’t that be nice for a change. As for the news they should not be able to give their views on anything except the editorial section only.

    I did vote to and I am not to impressed either. Can’t wait to see what happens next.

    Here’s your click ….

    Love and Blessings,
    AngelBaby

  6. oldereyes Says:

    I find it interesting that although past posts and comments make me think we differ politically, we’re mostly in agreement on this. I guess that reflects how deep the dissatisfaction with our politicians runs. Sometimes I think I should refuse to vote for anyone using negative ads … but then I’d never get to vote!


Leave a comment