Getting Things Fixed

My blogging friend, Meleah, asked in her latest post, Would you ever consider cosmetic surgery?  I could get on my philosophical high horse and answer that We’re better off accepting who we are than changing how we look, but nobody likes me when I’m on that horse.  Well, maybe fans of my curmudgeon do.  The simple answer to Meleah’s question is, No, but simple answers don’t make for good posts, so I’ll expand.  From about seventh grade through high school, I regarded myself as fairly homely, mostly based on the fact girls weren’t interested in me.  It’s possible that girls weren’t interested because for most of that time I was 4′ 10″ tall and hadn’t a clue how to act with girls but at 13, who thinks of that?  Years later, I’d realize that girls did like me, just not the girls I wanted to like me but that’s another story for another post.  The bottom line is that looks were never something I saw as a strong point.  As I got older and realized I wasn’t exactly Quasimodo, I still viewed my appearance as interesting rather than handsome.    When your life proceeds just fine as interesting, you don’t mess with it.

But, OK, theoretically, what if I did decided to have cosmetic surgery on this interesting face of mine.  What would I change?  It would make sense, I suppose, to emulate the movie stars my wife has loved over the years … and for years, Muri has loved the baby blues of a certain deceased star, who coincidentally remained married to the same woman for life.  What do you think?

I’m not sure that another actor who’s up for Best Actor this year would make it to Muri’s Hottest Men list, but I know most of the ladies think he’s gorgeous (really?).  And he does have great hair that I’d be willing to borrow, even if I don’t think much of his acting.  Yes, I’m in the minority there, too, what a surprise.

I don’t know whether it was because I was in one of the first integrated fraternities at University of Connecticut or not, but Muri’s always had an eye for African American men, so I’m sure I can’t go wrong with the smile of this two time academy award winner.

Yes, the nose.  If there was one feature I’ve been kidded about the most, it’s the old schnozzola but it was really important to me to preserve the Reed family tradition slightly right-facing beaks (7.5°, to be exact).  This member of the Huff Post Hollywood’s Hottest Older Men club had just the proboscis I needed.  The ears?  No, they’re perfect.  So, meet the new Older Eyes.

Let me say this (about that, as Richard Nixon often said).  I really do think it’s better to accept your appearance than to mess with it except in cases of disfiguration but I also can understand that if a tuck here and a pull there makes you feel better about yourself, it’s probably worthwhile.  I won’t hold it against you (actually, Muri won’t let me hold it against you … rimshot, please).  Frequently, though, people spend a lot of money and I can’t even see the difference (think eyelid surgery … when’s the last time you said, Look at the eyelids on that chick … dude … whatever?).  Can you really feel like a man when you’ve had full body hair removal?  What’s next?  Pantyhose?   And I don’t understand the extremes that some people go to.   Is there anyone who’s not creeped out by Joan Rivers or Cher?  Yes, Kenny Rogers, too.  And why do women insist on starving themselves until they look like a refugee (which eliminates their breasts, which are about 80% fat) then having implants designed for Sophia Loren?  I don’t get it.

For anyone that’s interested, I think older women are beautiful.   Here is Older Eyes’ list Things That Make an Older Woman Sexy:

1.  She’s comfortable in her own skin.
2. She’s able to laugh at her imperfections.
3. She’s more attractive than she thinks she is (aka humility)
4. She wears her age with grace.
5. She dresses stylishly without trying to look 20.

None of this requires surgery.  However, you don’t have to look around much to know that not every old coot would agree.

Can you identify the source of all my facial upgrades?

Explore posts in the same categories: humor

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

13 Comments on “Getting Things Fixed”

  1. marjulo Says:

    Let’s see if I can guess–Paul Newman, Brad PItt and Denzel Washington??? I agree with you totally about plastic surgery. I have another celebrity who has not profited by undergoing the knife–Dolly Parton!


  2. The eyes are Paul Newman. The hair is George (yes, he’s gorgeous, but his hair is not his most smouldering feature) Clooney. The nose is Harrison Ford and the smile is Denzel Washington. You’ve picked some winners, there, Bud. (I am most disturbed that I could identify Harrison Ford’s nose on spec.)

  3. territerri Says:

    I had Paul Newman, George Clooney and Denzel Washington. I couldn’t figure out the nose, but I’ll take thesinglecell’s word for it!

    I tend to agree with you on this issue. Keep the parts you came with. And besides, when I really think about what I find attractive in either men or women, it’s usually not really the physical aspects that draw me to someone. It’s the person inside.


  4. Well, I too picked Newman, Clooney and Washington for openers but the rest -I had nary a clue there. However interesting your new portrait is, ya know what? I really like the regular Bud I’ve kind of become acquainted with as he seems to have a friendly, “homey” kind of appearance! Now, since you asked us if we would consider such surgery, for myself, the answer is no! The only “repair” job I would like to have is a set of dentures made-to-order so that I could live my last days/years -whatever -with something I have wanted clear back to my elementary school days -straight teeth that met exactly where they were supposed to meet! Sure I could use a bit of help on the throat area to get that chicken neck thing done away with, or I suppose a few nip and tucks around the eyes and mouth and definitely could use a nice bit of liposuction as well as more hernia repair too probably wouldn’t hurt either but I don’t think I am up to volunteering my body for intentional surgery. Saving my energy and ability to withstand pain (hah-hah) so well for the next round of surgery that may be on it’s way to me as I write this. Never know what’s in store, do we?

  5. mamitamama Says:

    What’s interesting is that dressing like you’re 20, even if you are 20, is most of the time inappropriate and not the kind of attention that creates for lasting relationships.


  6. But when she’s NOT comfortable in her own skin = plastic surgery!

    And I am cracking up at your photos over here.

    My father is 64 years old – and he would LOVE to get an eye job.

    • oldereyes Says:

      That’s kinda what I said – “I also can understand that if a tuck here and a pull there makes you feel better about yourself, it’s probably worthwhile.”

      Glad you enjoyed my art work.

  7. Sadie TheDawg Says:

    In the bottom photo – you look like Michael Jackson just before his R.I.P. Bravo. Nice look.


Leave a comment